French versionEnglish version

Application Guide - (pdf)

Contact Us

IAP Information

Can I still apply to be a member of an IAP Group even though the IAP deadline has passed?

Group IAP Information

What are the steps in the IAP?

What can I expect at a hearing?

How is compensation decided?

What should I do if my claim is not admitted?

Do I need a lawyer?

Expectations of Legal Practice

What help can I get?

IAP Fact Sheets

Notices for Self-Represented Claimants


Former Students

Index

Is my school included in the Settlement Agreement?

To see the list of schools that are included in the Settlement Agreement, click here.

What if I applied to have a claim settled under the old Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Process?

Negotiating a settlement on a re-opened file

If you filed a claim before the application deadline to reopen a claim settled under the old Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Process, the Government of Canada may contact your lawyer to discuss whether it is possible to negotiate a settlement.

What happens if my claim raises a “jurisdictional issue”?


From time to time, the Indian Residential Schools Adjudication Secretariat will admit a claim under the Independent Assessment Process and then discover that it may not fall within the terms of the IAP. This is called a jurisdictional issue.

Jurisdictional issues arise when:

Sending the jurisdictional issue to an Adjudicator

In these cases, the Secretariat will assign an Adjudicator to the claim and point out the jurisdictional issues. As soon as possible, the Adjudicator can decide to let the hearing go ahead or to order a pre-hearing teleconference.

If the Adjudicator orders a pre-hearing teleconference, it has to happen as early as possible, before the hearing takes place. The claimant does not have to participate in the conference call unless they are representing themselves, without a lawyer.

Organizing a pre-hearing teleconference

The Secretariat organizes the teleconference as soon as possible. Before the teleconference, they send you or your lawyer a Notice of Pre-hearing Teleconference. The notice explains the issues in detail so that all the parties are fully prepared to address the concerns at the conference.

If you or any other party wishes to add issues to the pre-hearing teleconference, the request must go in writing to the Adjudicator. All other parties must get a copy at least one week before the teleconference. The Adjudicator decides if the issue(s) will be added to the conference.

For complex track cases, the jurisdictional pre-hearing teleconference may be combined with the case management conference.

The purpose of the pre-hearing teleconference

The teleconference is only to address concerns about the eligibility of your claim. It is not for the testing of evidence. It is not in the nature of a preliminary inquiry. That is why you do not need to participate if you have a lawyer.

The Adjudicator's decision

If the Adjudicator decides that your claim does not fall within the terms of the Independent Assessment Process, he or she will send you an 'unadmit' letter. You have 90 days to appeal this decision to the Chief Adjudicator.

If the Adjudicator decides that the claim does fall within the terms of the IAP, the claim goes ahead.

Note


Adobe Reader icon Many of our documents are in PDF format. To access them, you must have a PDF reader installed. You can get a PDF reader for free from:

French versionEnglish version

Guide de demande - (pdf)

Information concernant le PEI

Puis-je présenter une demande en tant que membre d’un groupe?

Information du PEI collectif

Quelles sont les étapes du PEI?

À quoi dois-je m’attendre dans le cadre d’une audience?

Comment rend-on la décision relative à l’indemnité?

Que dois-je faire si ma réclamation n’est pas admise?

Ai-je besoin d’un avocat?

Attentes en matière de pratique juridique

Quelle aide puis-je obtenir?

Fiche d'information sur le PEI

Avis aux demandeurs non représentés


Communiquez avec nous

Foire aux questions

Statistiques du SAPI

Anciens élèves

Index

Le pensionnat que j’ai fréquenté est-il visé par la Convention de règlement?

Pour consulter la liste de pensionnats visés par la Convention de règlement, cliquez ici.

Qu’arrive-t-il si j’ai réglé ma réclamation dans le cadre du Mode alternatif de règlement des conflits (MARC) antérieur?

Négociation d’un règlement dans un dossier rouvert

Le gouvernement du Canada peut communiquer avec votre avocat en vue de discuter de la possibilité de négocier un règlement. Cette option s’offre à vous seulement si vous avez un avocat.

Qu’arrive-t-il si ma réclamation soulève une question de « compétence »?


De temps à autre, le Secrétariat d’adjudication des pensionnats indiens pourra admettre une réclamation dans le cadre du Processus d’évaluation indépendant et constater par la suite que le dossier ne correspond pas aux règles du PEI. Nous sommes alors devant une question de compétence.

Des questions de compétence se posent dans les situations suivantes :

Renvoi de la question de compétence devant un adjudicateur

En pareil cas, le Secrétariat confiera le dossier à un adjudicateur et soulignera les questions de compétence en cause. Dès que possible, l’adjudicateur détermine si l’audience doit avoir lieu ou s’il faut convoquer une téléconférence préparatoire à l’audience.

Si l’adjudicateur ordonne la tenue d’une téléconférence préparatoire à l’audience (TPA), celle-ci doit avoir lieu le plus tôt possible, avant la tenue de l’audience. Le demandeur n’est pas tenu de participer à la téléconférence, à moins qu’il ne se représente lui-même, sans avocat.

Organisation de la téléconférence préparatoire

Le Secrétariat organise la téléconférence aussitôt que possible. Au préalable, il fera parvenir à vous ou à votre avocat un Avis de téléconférence préparatoire exposant en détail les points à traiter afin que les parties soient bien préparées à régler les questions soulevées au cours de la téléconférence.

Toute partie souhaitant ajouter des questions à traiter durant la TPA doit présenter sa demande par écrit à l’adjudicateur, ainsi que fournir une copie de celle-ci à toutes les autres parties au moins une semaine avant la téléconférence (TPA). L’adjudicateur a toute latitude pour autoriser ou refuser l’ajout de ces questions.

Dans les cas relevant du volet complexe, la téléconférence préparatoire à l’audience peut être combinée avec la conférence de gestion de cas.

Raison d’être de la téléconférence préparatoire à l’audience

La téléconférence a exclusivement pour objet de régler les questions relatives à l’admissibilité de la réclamation. Elle n’a pas pour but d’examiner la preuve et n’est pas de la nature d'une enquête préliminaire. Vous n’êtes donc pas tenu d’y participer si vous avez un avocat.

Décision de l’adjudicateur

Si l’adjudicateur détermine que votre réclamation ne s’inscrit pas dans le cadre du Processus d’évaluation indépendant, il vous fera parvenir une lettre de « refus d’admission ». Vous disposez de 90 jours pour faire appel de cette décision devant l’adjudicateur en chef.

Si l’adjudicateur détermine que la réclamation satisfait aux conditions du PEI, celle-ci suivra le processus normal.

Note


Adobe Reader icon Certain documents sont en format PDF. Pour y avoir accès, un logiciel de visualisation de PDF doit être installé sur votre ordinateur. Vous pouvez en obtenir one au lien suivants: