Governance of the Independent Assessment Process

The Independent Assessment Process was established as one of the components of the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement (IRSSA), the largest class action settlement in Canadian history.

The Settlement Agreement established two governing bodies that set overall direction of the IAP. They are the Oversight Committee and the National Administration Committee. In addition, the Courts also supervise the administration and implementation of the IAP.

The Oversight Committee is led by an independent chair and made up of eight people who represent the parties that signed the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement: the government, the churches, the lawyers representing claimants and Indigenous organizations. The Committee recruits and appoints the Chief Adjudicator and all other Adjudicators on behalf of the court.

The Oversight Committee guides and provides advice on the IAP to ensure that it operates according to the direction sets out in Schedule D of the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement. It also makes recommendations to improve the process. The committee helps the Chief Adjudicator by giving advice.

You can learn more about the work of the Oversight Committee by reading its Meeting Minutes

The National Administration Committee is made up of lawyers who represent each of the following groups:

  • Government of Canada
  • Church organizations
  • Assembly of First Nations
  • The National Consortium
  • The Merchant Law Group
  • Inuit representatives, and
  • Independent counsel

The National Administration Committee’s role is to oversee the implementation and administration of the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement, subject to the supervision of the Courts. It may seek necessary court orders as well as ensure there is national consistency in the implementation of the Settlement Agreement.

The Committee strives to make decisions by consensus. Where consensus is not achieved, decisions require a majority vote of five members. Where a decision requires increased funding, the Government of Canada must vote in favour.

In terms of the IAP, the National Administration Committee makes sure the Government of Canada has provided enough money and resources to make the IAP work effectively. The Committee also reviews and advises on any changes to the IAP that the Chief Adjudicator or the Oversight Committee may propose.

You can learn more about the work of the National Administration Committee on the Official Court website of the Indian Residential Schools Settlement.

Nine provincial and territorial superior courts approved the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement in 2007. The court supervises the administration and implementation of the IRSSA to ensure that it delivers the promised benefits to the class members. When parties to the Settlement Agreement have problems with the way the IRSSA has been interpreted, they can apply to the court for direction on how to proceed.

The judges of the nine courts are designated as Supervising Judges. Supervising judges’ responsibilities include:

  • Hearing applications to add institutions to the list of Indian Residential Schools under Article 12 of the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement
  • Hearing appeals from decisions of the NAC with respect to the eligibility for CEP
  • Hearing Requests for Direction submitted by parties involved in the IAP

You can access Court decisions that are relevant to the administration and governance of the Independent Assessment Process on the Decisions and Court Document section of this website.

Occasionally the Chief Adjudicator, the Oversight Committee and the National Administration Committee issue instructions on the interpretation and application of the IAP model.

  • Guidance Papers outline suggested procedures to adjudicators and parties to a claim for dealing with issues that have arisen in the administration of the IAP.
  • Chief Adjudicator’s Directives (CADs) are official notices of instruction to adjudicators and parties to a claim that must be followed; they can set deadlines and frame specific policies and procedures to deal with issues of concern.
  • From time to time, the Chief Adjudicator issues Practice Directives, to assist legal counsel who represent claimants in the IAP.

Gouvernance du Processus d’évaluation indépendant

Le Processus d’évaluation indépendant (PEI) est l’un des volets de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens (Convention de règlement), le plus important règlement de recours collectif de l’histoire du Canada.

La Convention de règlement a permis de mettre sur pied deux organes directeurs qui établissent l’orientation globale du PEI. Il s’agit du Comité de surveillance et du Comité d’administration national. De plus, les tribunaux supervisent également l’administration et la mise en œuvre du PEI.

Le Comité de surveillance est dirigé par un président indépendant et est composé de huit personnes représentant les parties ayant ratifié la Convention de règlement : le gouvernement, les églises, les avocats représentant les demandeurs ainsi que les organismes autochtones. Le Comité recrute et nomme l’adjudicateur en chef et tous les autres adjudicateurs au nom du tribunal.

Le Comité de surveillance donne des directives et fournit des conseils sur le PEI pour s’assurer qu’il fonctionne selon l’orientation établie à l’annexe D de la Convention de règlement. Le Comité formule également des recommandations pour améliorer le processus. Il aide l’adjudicateur en chef en lui fournissant des conseils sur le PEI.

Vous pouvez en apprendre plus sur les travaux du Comité de surveillance en lisant les procès verbaux de ses réunions créer un lien pour le texte souligné menant à la page des .

Le Comité d’administration national est formé d’avocats représentant chacun des groupes suivants :

  • Gouvernement du Canada
  • Organisations religieuses
  • AssemblĂ©e des Premières Nations
  • Consortium national
  • Merchant Law Group
  • ReprĂ©sentants des Inuits
  • Avocat indĂ©pendant

Le Comité d’administration national est chargé de surveiller la mise en œuvre et l’administration de la Convention de règlement, sous réserve de la surveillance des tribunaux. Il peut veiller à obtenir des ordonnances des tribunaux au besoin et à s’assurer que la mise en œuvre de la Convention est cohérente à l’échelle du pays.

Le Comité s’efforce toujours de prendre ses décisions par voie de consensus. À défaut de consensus, les décisions requièrent un vote majoritaire de cinq membres. Lorsqu’une décision nécessite une augmentation du financement, le gouvernement du Canada doit voter pour déterminer si celle-ci sera approuvée.

En ce qui concerne le PEI, le Comité d’administration national veille à ce que le gouvernement du Canada fournisse les ressources et le financement requis pour en assurer le bon fonctionnement. Le Comité se charge également d’examiner toute modification que l’adjudicateur en chef ou le Comité de surveillance peuvent recommander d’apporter au PEI et de donner des conseils à cet égard.

Vous pouvez en apprendre plus sur les travaux du Comité d’administration national sur le site Web officiel des tribunaux du Règlement relatif aux pensionnats.

Neuf cours supérieures provinciales et territoriales ont approuvé la Convention de règlement en 2007. Les tribunaux supervisent l’administration et la mise en œuvre de la Convention de règlement pour veiller à ce qu’elle offre les avantages promis aux personnes inscrites au recours collectif. Lorsque les parties de la Convention de règlement ont des préoccupations quant à la façon dont la Convention de règlement a été interprétée, elles peuvent demander au tribunal des directives sur la façon de procéder.

Les juges de ces neuf tribunaux sont appelés les juges chargés de la supervision. Les responsabilités des juges chargés de la supervision comprennent les suivantes :

  • entendre les demandes d’ajout d’établissements Ă  la liste des pensionnats indiens en vertu de l’article 12 de la Convention de règlement;
  • entendre les appels des dĂ©cisions rendues par le ComitĂ© d’administration national concernant l’admissibilitĂ© au Paiement d’expĂ©rience commune;
  • entendre les demandes de prĂ©cision prĂ©sentĂ©es par les parties participant au PEI.

Vous pouvez accéder aux décisions judiciaires concernant l’administration et la gouvernance du PEI dans la section de ce site Web sur les décisions judiciaires et les documents juridiques .

Occasionnellement, l’adjudicateur en chef, le Comité de surveillance et le Comité d’administration national donnent des instructions relatives à l’interprétation et à l’application du PEI.

  • Les documents d’orientation dĂ©crivent les procĂ©dures suggĂ©rĂ©es aux adjudicateurs et aux parties d’une demande pour rĂ©gler les problèmes soulevĂ©s lors de l’administration du PEI.
  • Les directives de l’adjudicateur en chef sont des avis d’instruction officiels Ă  l’intention des adjudicateurs et des parties d’une demande qui doivent ĂŞtre respectĂ©s; les directives peuvent Ă©tablir des Ă©chĂ©anciers ainsi que des politiques et des procĂ©dures prĂ©cises pour rĂ©gler des questions prĂ©occupantes.
  • De temps Ă  autre, l’adjudicateur en chef Ă©met des directives relatives aux pratiques pour aider le conseiller juridique qui reprĂ©sente les demandeurs dans le cadre du PEI.