News Releases and Media Advisories

This section contains a variety of information on the Independent Assessment Process (IAP) that may be of interest to the media. This includes news releases, media advisories and speeches.

Please check back often as information is added to this section of the website on a regular basis.



Statement | Statement by Chief Adjudicator Dan Shapiro, on the decision by Supreme Court of Canada on the disposition of Independent Assessment Process (IAP) Records

October 27, 2016

The Indian Residential Schools Adjudication Secretariat believes that the IAP is a private and confidential process. Our adjudicators gave claimants assurances that we would protect their records. As Chief Adjudicator, I will continue to guard the confidentiality of IAP records....more

News Release | The Lost Claimant Protocol: a success story

July 12, 2016

There's nothing Cody Francis likes more than locating a "lost claimant" in the Independent Assessment Process (IAP). “It’s a true joy to be able to find, call and speak to a claimant directly. It’s always been a positive experience,” he said....more

News Release | Winnipeg IAP Hearing Centre closes

June 7, 2016

Winnipeg, June 7, 2016 – With fewer than 200 hearings remaining to be held in the Independent Assessment Process (IAP), Chief Adjudicator Dan Shapiro today presided over a closing ceremony for the Winnipeg Hearing Centre....more

Media Advisory | Ontario Court of Appeal upholds decision on destruction of IAP documents

April 4, 2016

Statement by Chief Adjudicator Dan Shapiro, on the decision by Ontario Court of Appeal on the disposition of Independent Assessment Process (IAP) Records, April 4, 2016...more

News Release | IRSAS On Track to Complete Hearings

March 21, 2016

Regina (March 21, 2016) - The Indian Residential School Adjudication Secretariat is on track to complete the vast majority of claimant first hearings in the Independent Assessment Process by the Spring of 2016, Chief Adjudicator Dan Shapiro announced today...more

News Release | All remaining IAP hearings to be scheduled

May 27, 2015

Regina – May 27, 2015 – The Indian Residential Schools Adjudication Secretariat (IRSAS) has begun scheduling hearings for all unresolved claims of abuse at Indian Residential Schools....more

News Release | IAP winding down, efforts to reach lost claimants stepped up

May 20, 2015

Regina – May 20, 2015 – Efforts to reach claimants who suffered abuse at Indian Residential Schools and who cannot be located are being stepped up as the Independent Assessment Process (IAP) is winding down....more

News Release | Group IAP accepting proposals for 2015-16

October 9, 2014

Regina, October 9, 2014 -- The Indian Residential Schools Adjudication Secretariat is accepting proposals for Group IAP, a program that supports healing and reconciliation for former students of Indian residential schools, their families, and communities....more

Media Advisory | Court orders destruction of IAP documents

August 7, 2014

Statement by Chief Adjudicator Dan Shapiro, on a decision by Ontario Superior Court of Justice Paul M. Perell, who has ordered the destruction of IAP records following a 15 year retention period....more

Speech | Chief Adjudicator calls for destruction of IAP records

June 19, 2014

I am here today to speak about an issue that is of profound importance to the survivors of Indian Residential Schools. But as I speak to you, someone else is going through one of the most important days of her life. ...more

News Release | Chief Adjudicator calls for destruction of IAP records

June 19, 2014

Edmonton, June 19, 2014 – Dan Shapiro, the Chief Adjudicator of the Independent Assessment Process (IAP), has called for the destruction of all records related to claims of abuse suffered by students at the Indian Residential Schools....more

Media Advisory | Chief Adjudicator takes action to protect IAP claimants

April 24, 2014

Chief Adjudicator Dan Shapiro has asked the Manitoba Court of Queen’s Bench to ensure that claimants under the Independent Assessment Process receive the benefits intended for them under the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement...more

News Release | Telling Your Story helps claimants prepare for IAP hearings

March 26, 2014

Edmonton, March 26, 2013 – The Indian Residential Schools Adjudication Secretariat has released a new video to help claimants prepare for their hearing in the Independent Assessment Process (IAP)....more

Media Advisory | News Conference March 26 2014 Edmonton

March 21, 2014

Ottawa, March 21, 2013 – Dan Shapiro, the Chief Adjudicator of the Indian Residential Schools Adjudication Secretariat, will hold a news conference to release a new video to help claimants prepare for their hearing in the Independent Assessment Process (IAP) at 1:30 pm in Edmonton on March 26, 2014....more

News Release | IAP hearings to be complete by Spring 2016

March 6, 2014

Regina, March 6, 2014 -- The Indian Residential Schools Adjudication Secretariat expects to complete hearings for claimants in the Independent Assessment Process (IAP) by the Spring of 2016, Chief Adjudicator Dan Shapiro announced today...more

News Release | Call for Proposals for Group IAP

February 18, 2014

The Indian Residential Schools Adjudication Secretariat (IRSAS) has launched a call for proposals to fund activities that support healing and reconciliation for groups of former students of Indian Residential Schools...more

News Release | New measures to protect Indian Residential Schools claimants

October 21, 2013

The Chief Adjudicator of the Independent Assessment Process (IAP) has announced new measures designed to protect claimants from lawyers who engage in unconscionable and illegal conduct...more

News Release | Search begins for new Deputy Chief Adjudicator for Independent Assessment Process

August 16, 2013

A search for a new Deputy Chief Adjudicator (DCA) for the Independent Assessment Process (IAP) was launched today with the release of a Request for Proposals for individuals who are interested in applying...more

News Release | Dan Shapiro Named Chief Adjudicator for Independent Assessment Process

July 17, 2013

Saskatoon lawyer Dan Shapiro has been selected as the new Chief Adjudicator of the Independent Assessment Process (IAP)...more

News Release | IAP Deadline extended for individuals who attended Mistassini Hostels

April 22, 2013

The deadline for individuals who attended the Mistassini Hostels in Northern Quebec to apply for compensation under the Independent Assessment Process has been extended to September 2, 2013...more

News Release | Search begins for new Chief Adjudicator for Independent Assessment Process

April 15, 2013

The search for a new Chief Adjudicator for the Independent Assessment Process was launched today with the release of a Request for Proposals for individuals who are interested in applying...more

Media Advisory | About Ivon Johnny

February 12, 2013

The Court directed that the Chief Adjudicator advise all claimants in the IRS settlement process that an order has been issued by the Court removing Mr. Ivon Johnny from all participation in the Independent Assessment Process...more

News Release | Chief Adjudicator sets standards for lawyers under Independent Assessment Process

August 30, 2012

On August 30, 2012, the Chief Adjudicator released standards for lawyers who practise in the IAP. The document provides guidance to claimants on what they can expect from their lawyer and sets out the appropriate norms of practice in the IAP...more

Note


Adobe Reader icon Many of our documents are in PDF format. To access them, you must have a PDF reader installed. You can get a PDF reader for free from:

Communiqués de presse et avis aux médias

Cette section contient une variété de renseignements sur le Processus d’évaluation indépendant (PEI) qui pourraient intéresser les médias. On y trouve entre autres des communiqués, des avis aux médias et des allocutions.

Veuillez consulter cette page Web souvent puisque des renseignements y sont ajoutés périodiquement.



Déclaration | Déclaration de l’Adjudicateur en chef, Dan Shapiro, sur la décision de la Cour suprême du Canada concernant la disposition des dossiers du Processus d'évaluation indépendant (PEI)

27 October 2016

Le Secrétariat d'adjudication des pensionnats indiens estime que le PEI est un processus privé et confidentiel. Nos adjudicateurs se sont engagés à protéger les dossiers des demandeurs. En tant qu’Adjudicateur en chef, je continuerai à protéger la confidentialité des dossiers du PEI....en savoir plus

Communiqué de nouvelles | Le Protocole pour les demandeurs dont on a perdu la trace, une histoire de réussite

12 juillet 2016

Ce que Cody Francis aime par-dessus tout, c’est de retrouver un demandeur dont on a perdu la trace, dans le cadre du Processus d’évaluation indépendant (PEI). « C’est un pur bonheur de retrouver un demandeur, de l’appeler et de lui parler directement. Ça a toujours été une expérience formidable », dit-il....en savoir plus

Communiqué de nouvelles | Fermeture du Centre des audiences du PEI de Winnipeg

7 juin 2016

Winnipeg, le 7 juin 2016 – Les audiences à tenir dans le cadre du Processus d’évaluation indépendant (PEI) se chiffrent à moins de 200, et c’est aujourd’hui que l’adjudicateur en chef Dan Shapiro a présidé la cérémonie de clôture du Centre des audiences de Winnipeg....en savoir plus

Avis au médias | La Cour d’appel de l’Ontario confirme la décision sur la destruction des documents du PEI

4 avril 2016

Déclaration de l’adjudicateur en chef, Dan Shapiro, au sujet de la décision de la Cour d’appel de l’Ontario sur la disposition des documents du Processus d’évaluation indépendant (PEI), le 4 avril, 2016...en savoir plus

Communiqué de nouvelles | Le SAPI est en bonne voie de terminer les audiences

21 mars 2016

Regina (le 21 mars 2016) – L’adjudicateur en chef, Dan Shapiro, a annoncé aujourd’hui que le Secrétariat d’adjudication des pensionnats indiens (SAPI) est en bonne voie de terminer d’ici le printemps 2016 la grande majorité des premières audiences des demandeurs dans le cadre du Processus d’évaluation indépendant...en savoir plus

Communiqué de nouvelles | Le PEI fixe des dates d’audiences pour toutes les demandes non réglées

27 mai 2015

Regina – 27 mai 2015 – Le Secrétariat d’adjudication des pensionnats indiens (SAPI) a commencé à fixer les dates d’audience pour toutes les demandes non réglées relatives à des abus qui ont eu lieu dans les pensionnats indiens....en savoir plus

Communiqué de nouvelles | Réduction progressive des activités du PEI, et intensification des efforts pour joindre les demandeurs dont on a perdu la trace

20 mai 2015

Regina – Le 20 mai 2015 – Les efforts pour joindre les demandeurs qui ont subi des sévices dans les pensionnats indiens et qui ne peuvent être joints sont intensifiés à mesure que les activités du Processus d’évaluation indépendant (PEI) sont réduites progressivement....en savoir plus

Communiqué de nouvelles | Acceptation de propositions pour le PEI collectif pour 2015-2016

9 October 2014

Regina, 9 octobre 2014 – Le Secrétariat d’adjudication des pensionnats indiens accepte des propositions pour le PEI collectif, un programme qui favorise la guérison et la réconciliation des anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens, leur famille et leur collectivité....en savoir plus

Avis au médias | La Cour ordonne la destruction des dossiers du PEI

7 aout 2014

Déclaration de l’adjudicateur en chef, Dan Shapiro, au sujet d’une décision d’un juge de la Cour supérieure de justice de l’Ontario, Paul M. Perell, ordonnant la destruction des dossiers du Processus d’évaluation indépendant (PEI) à la suite d’une période de conservation de 15 ans....en savoir plus

Discours | Adjudicateur en chef appelle à la destruction des dossiers du PEI

19 juin 2014

Version anglaise de ce document n'est pas encore disponible
S'il vous plaît consulter le lien anglais


Communiqué de nouvelles | Adjudicateur en chef appelle à la destruction des dossiers du PEI

19 juin 2014

Edmonton, le 19 juin 2014 – Dan Shapiro, adjudicateur en chef du Processus d'évaluation indépendant (PEI), a demandé que soient détruits tous les documents relatifs à des demandes d'indemnisations pour sévices subis par d'anciens élèves de pensionnats indiens....en savoir plus

Avis aux médias | L’adjudicateur en chef passe à l’action pour protéger les demandeurs au titre du PEI

24 avril 2014

L’adjudicateur en chef, Dan Shapiro, a demandé à la Cour du Banc de la Reine du Manitoba, de veiller à ce que les personnes qui ont soumis une demande d’indemnité dans le cadre du Processus d’évaluation indépendant (PEI) touchent les prestations qui leur sont destinées en vertu de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens...en savoir plus

Communiqué de nouvelles | Racontez votre expérience aide les demandeurs à se préparer aux audiences du PEI

26 mars 2014

Edmonton, le 26 mars 2013 – Le Secrétariat d’adjudication des pensionnats indiens (SAPI) a publié une nouvelle vidéo pour aider les demandeurs à se préparer à leur audience dans le cadre du Processus d’évaluation indépendant (PEI)....en savoir plus

Avis aux médias | Conférence de nouvelles le 26 mars 2014 Edmonton

21 mars 2014

Ottawa, le 21 mars, 2013 – Dan Shapiro, l'adjudicateur en chef du au Secrétariat d'adjudication des pensionnats indiens, présidera a une conférence de presse pour dévoiler une nouvelle vidéo pour aider les demandeurs à se préparer à leur audience dans le cadre du Processus d'évaluation indépendant (PEI) à 13h30 à Edmonton, mercredi le 26 mars, 2014....en savoir plus

Communiqué de nouvelles | Fin des audiences du PEI prévue pour le printemps 2016

6 mars 2014

Regina, 6 mars 2014 – Le Secrétariat d’adjudication des pensionnats indiens s’attend à ce que les audiences des demandeurs dans le cadre du Processus d’évaluation indépendant (PEI) prennent fin d’ici le printemps 2016, selon l’annonce aujourd’hui de l’adjudicateur en chef, Dan Shapiro...en savoir plus

Communiqué de nouvelles | Demande de propositions pour le Processus d'évaluation indépendant collectif

18 fevrier 2014

Le Secrétariat d'adjudication des pensionnats indiens a élaboré un formulaire modifié à l’intention des demandeurs du Processus d’évaluation indépendant (PEI) qui, en raison de leur état de santé attesté, risquent de perdre leur capacité à fournir un témoignage essentiel à l’audience du PEI...en savoir plus

Communiqué de nouvelles | Nouvelles mesures pour protéger les anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens

21 October 2013

L’adjudicateur en chef du Processus d’évaluation indépendant (PEI) a annoncé de nouvelles mesures visant à protéger les demandeurs contre les avocats qui se comportent de façon inacceptable et illégale...en savoir plus

Communiqué de nouvelles | Début du processus de recherche d’un nouvel adjudicateur en chef adjoint pour le Processus d'évaluation indépendant

16 aout 2013

On a aujourd’hui lancé le processus d’embauche d’un nouvel adjudicateur en chef adjoint pour le Processus d’évaluation indépendant (PEI) en publiant une demande de propositions à l’intention des candidats intéressés...en savoir plus

Communiqué de nouvelles | Dan Shapiro nommé adjudicateur en chef du Processus d'évaluation indépendant

17 juillet 2013

L’avocat de Saskatoon Dan Shapiro a été choisi comme nouvel adjudicateur en chef du Processus d’évaluation indépendant (PEI)...en savoir plus

Communiqué de nouvelles | Date limite pour présenter une demande au titre du PEI reportée pour les personnes qui ont assisté aux Foyers de Mistassini

22 avril 2013

Les anciens élèves des Foyers de Mistassini, dans le Nord du Québec, ont maintenant jusqu’au 2 septembre 2013 pour présenter une demande d'indemnisation au titre du Processus d'évaluation indépendant...en savoir plus

Communiqué de nouvelles | Début des recherches pour trouver le nouvel adjudicateur en chef du Processus d'évaluation indépendant

15 avril 2013

Les recherches pour trouver le nouvel adjudicateur en chef pour le Processus d'évaluation indépendant (PEI) ont été lancées aujourd’hui par la publication d’une demande de propositions...en savoir plus

Avis aux médias | Au sujet de Ivon Johnny

12 fevrier 2013

La Cour a intimé à l’adjudicateur en chef d’informer tous les demandeurs au titre du processus de règlement relatif aux pensionnats indiens qu’une ordonnance interdisant à M. Ivon Johnny de prendre part d’une quelconque manière au Processus d'évaluation indépendant avait été rendue ...en savoir plus

Communiqué de nouvelles | L'adjudicateur en chef établit des normes pour les avocats qui participent au Processus d'évaluation indépendant

30 aout 2012

Le 30 aout 2012, l’adjudicateur en chef a publié des normes à l’intention des avocats qui exercent dans le cadre du Processus d’évaluation indépendant (PEI). Ce document fait savoir aux demandeurs ce qu’ils peuvent attendre de leur avocat, et indique aux avocats les normes de pratique qui conviennent pour le PEI ...en savoir plus

Note


Adobe Reader icon Many of our documents are in PDF format. To access them, you must have a PDF reader installed. You can get a PDF reader for free from: