Records disposition

What is happening to IAP documents?

The Independent Assessment Process (IAP) is, and has always been, a private and confidential process. The documents collected and prepared in the IAP are treated with care and are subject to strict privacy measures. These documents are sensitive, confidential, and must be protected. At hearings, survivors were promised that the details of the abuse they suffered would not be shared outside the IAP hearing room without their consent.

The Chief Adjudicator, who oversees this process, believes that each claimant should get to decide what happens to their IAP records. Claimants may ask for a transcript of their own testimony, for example. They may choose to keep it, or share it with others, or give it to an historical archive, if they wish. However, if a claimant does not wish to share his or her story, their confidentiality should be respected, and their documents destroyed when no longer required. This position is supported by the churches, the Assembly of First Nations (AFN), the Inuit Representatives, and several other Indigenous organizations.

The Government of Canada believes that the IAP documents are government-controlled documents. If the Supreme Court agrees, information about anyone identified in them would be available to the public 20 years after their death. The government intends to place IAP decisions, and perhaps other documents, in Library and Archives Canada (LAC). Under this scenario, LAC, and not survivors, will decide which documents will be kept, and which ones will be destroyed.

The National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation (NCTR), which houses statements given to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, also believes that the Government of Canada should control the IAP documents. The NCTR would like IAP records to be transferred permanently to its archive for research and education purposes.

The courts overseeing the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement have decided that IAP application forms, hearing audio recordings, hearing transcripts, and decisions, should be kept for a 15-year waiting period. During that time, claimants would be notified about the archive and its purpose. This way, they could decide whether they want their hearing transcripts and other documents to be preserved at the NCTR. After 15 years, all IAP documents would be destroyed, except for those that claimants have chosen to preserve. The Ontario Superior Court of Justice made this decision in August 2014 and it was upheld by a majority of the Court of Appeal for Ontario in April 2016.

The Government of Canada has appealed to the Supreme Court of Canada. The NCTR supports the government’s appeal. All the other parties to the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement, as well as the Chief Adjudicator, oppose the government’s appeal and will ask the Supreme Court of Canada to uphold the decisions that give survivors control over their accounts of their experiences at residential schools.

The Supreme Court of Canada will hear arguments on May 25, 2017. They will also be webcast.

Claimants can be confident that while the courts are considering these questions, the Chief Adjudicator continues to guard the confidentiality of IAP records.

Further information on the IAP, the kind of records being discussed, and the court order can be found in the following sections.

In 2007, former students of Indian residential schools reached a historical Settlement Agreement with the Government of Canada and the churches that ran the residential schools. The Agreement was intended to resolve lawsuits by thousands of former residential school students and to address the legacy of those schools. One part of the Agreement was the Independent Assessment Process known as the “IAP.”

The IAP is a process that provides compensation to former students who were abused at a residential school.

On their IAP application forms, claimants must provide personal information as well as details about the abuse they suffered and how it has affected their lives. They also are asked to identify alleged perpetrators. To support their claim, claimants are also asked for records documenting their medical, education, corrections, income tax, and employment histories. Canada also provides relevant school records for each claim.

Most claimants testify at a private hearing before a neutral adjudicator. Those attending the hearing include the adjudicator, the claimant, the claimant’s lawyer (in most cases), and a representative of the Government of Canada. Sometimes there is a church representative. A claimant also may choose to be accompanied at the hearing by a health support worker, family members, an Elder, or others.

Everyone attending a hearing must sign a written confidentiality agreement, promising to keep details of the claim private.

The adjudicator asks the claimant questions and manages the hearing, then writes a decision about whether compensation will be paid, and what amount.

The IAP is administered by the Indian Residential Schools Adjudication Secretariat under the direction of the Chief Adjudicator.

Almost 38,000 former students applied for compensation through the IAP. Others applied through the previous Alternative Dispute Resolution process, which accepted applications from 2003 to 2007. Most claims have been resolved and the rest soon will be. As the IAP winds down, a question remains -- what should happen to the hundreds of thousands of documents that were used in the process?

The Chief Adjudicator believes that the promises of confidentiality made at every hearing must be honoured and the wishes of individual claimants about their records must be respected. The Chief Adjudicator believes that each survivor should have the right to control his or her own records. Claimants may decide to keep their own records or share them with others, including an historical archive if they wish. Even in those cases, information that identifies other people would first be removed, to respect everyone’s privacy. If a claimant does not wish to share information about their experience at residential school, it should be kept confidential, and the records destroyed when no longer required.

The Government of Canada believes that the documents used in the IAP are government-controlled documents. This means that the federal government’s privacy and access to information laws would apply to them. Those laws protect the privacy of an individual identified in a document for only 20 years after their death. If the government controls them, it would probably destroy some IAP documents, but others would be preserved and information about anyone identified in them would become available for public access when that person has been dead for 20 years. This would give claimants no say in which documents are destroyed and which are kept.

The NCTR would like IAP records to be transferred to its archive, for research and education purposes, whether or not the individual survivor agrees.

The records in dispute include:

  • Application forms, with details of alleged abuse. These often include names of other students and/or staff who are alleged perpetrators;
  • Medical, psychological, corrections, education, family and child services, and income tax and employment records, which survivors had to submit in support of their claim;
  • Recordings and transcripts of testimony by claimants, those accused of abuse, and witnesses;
  • Expert psychological and medical reports obtained for the purposes of the claim; and
  • The adjudicator’s decision.

Not all records related to residential schools are affected by the current case. These include:

  • Historical records from the time that the residential schools were open. These include records about the students who attended and the staff who worked there.
  • Statements given by survivors and others to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission.
  • Records related to the Common Experience Payment and administration of the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement.

These records already exist at Library and Archives Canada (LAC) and/or the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation, and they will remain there in any event. The legacy of Indian Residential schools will be preserved through the thousands of documents and statements collected by the TRC and other historical documents already archived at LAC.

Only records created specifically for the confidential Independent Assessment Process are affected by this court case.

IAP claim records contain very personal information about claimants as well as many others, including:

  • adults and students who are accused of abuse;
  • witnesses who volunteer to testify; and
  • fellow students, family and community members whose personal histories and relationships may be discussed in the records and during testimony.

Many claimants would not have made a claim if they did not receive a guarantee that the privacy of their documents and hearing would be protected. Privacy has also been promised for other individuals identified in the claims.

In 2013, the Truth and Reconciliation Commission and the Chief Adjudicator asked the Supervising Courts for direction about what should happen to the IAP records once claims are resolved.

In August 2014, after hearing the parties’ submissions, the Ontario Superior Court of Justice decided that the promises of confidentiality must be respected and confirmed that claimants and others identified in IAP records are entitled to privacy.

The Court decided that four categories of records — application forms, hearing transcripts, audio recordings of hearings, and decisions — should be retained for 15 years so that claimants can decide whether to place their own records in an archive. The Court also recognized the need to first remove private information about other people, before a document is archived. Other records, such as the medical and income tax records that claimants must submit to prove their claims, will be destroyed when they are no longer required for the IAP, as will application forms, transcripts, audio recordings and decisions if the claimant doesn’t choose to place them in an archive within the 15 year retention period.

The Court also directed a program to notify claimants that they have the right — if they wish — to share their stories with the archive set up by the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation (NCTR). Claimants can choose to have their application forms, transcripts and audio recordings of hearings, and adjudicators’ decisions placed in a historical archive. Information that could identify other people would first be removed.

In April 2016, the Court of Appeal for Ontario upheld this decision, and ruled that records from the Alternative Dispute Resolution process (the predecessor to the IAP) should be treated the same way.

The Government of Canada obtained leave to appeal this decision to the Supreme Court of Canada, which will hear oral arguments on May 25, 2017.

The IAP has always been private and confidential. Documents collected and prepared in the IAP continue to be treated with care and security as the Courts consider what should happen to them when claims finish.

Claimants have always been entitled to receive a transcript of their own testimony, after names and identifying information about others have been removed, to respect their privacy. So far, about 5% of claimants have asked for a transcript.

Claimants may do whatever they like with their transcripts. One option is to place it in an archive set up for this purpose at the NCTR, or with another historical archive.

The NCTR has been created to preserve forever the memory of Canada’s residential school system. Claimants who wish to preserve for future generations the details of their experiences should consider depositing a copy of their transcript with the Centre.

Claimants may request a transcript of their testimony through their lawyer or support officer, or by contacting the Secretariat:

It usually takes two to three months to receive a transcript.

Find out more about the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation here.

La disposition des documents du PEI

Que fait-on des documents du PEI?

Le Processus d’évaluation indépendant (PEI) a toujours été un processus privé et confidentiel. Les documents recueillis et préparés dans le cadre du PEI sont traités avec soin et sont visés par des mesures strictes de protection de la vie privée. Ces documents doivent être protégés, car ils sont confidentiels et de nature délicate. Lors des audiences, l’on a promis aux survivants que les détails des mauvais traitements dont ils ont été victimes ne seraient pas divulgués à l’extérieur de la salle d’audience sans leur consentement.

L’adjudicateur en chef, qui supervise ce processus, estime que chaque demandeur devrait pouvoir décider de ce qu’il advient de ses documents du PEI. Les demandeurs peuvent demander une transcription de leur propre témoignage, par exemple. Ils peuvent choisir de conserver ce document, de le communiquer ou de le verser dans des archives historiques. Toutefois, si un demandeur ne veut pas communiquer son histoire, il faut respecter la confidentialité de celle-ci et détruire les documents qui ne servent plus. Cette position est soutenue par les églises, l’Assemblée des Premières Nations, les représentants Inuits et plusieurs autres organisations autochtones.

Le gouvernement du Canada croit que les documents du PEI sont des documents du gouvernement. Si la Cour suprême est d’accord, les renseignements sur les personnes identifiées dans ces documents seraient accessibles au public 20 ans après le décès de ces personnes. Le gouvernement a l’intention de confier les documents relatifs aux décisions au titre du PEI, et peut-être d’autres documents, à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC). Selon ce scénario, c’est BAC, et non les survivants, qui déterminerait quels documents seront conservés et quels documents seront détruits.

Le Centre national pour la vérité et réconciliation (CNVR), qui détient les déclarations faites à la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation, estime également que le gouvernement du Canada devrait contrôler les documents du PEI. Le CNVR aimerait que les documents du PEI soient transférés dans leurs archives de façon permanente à des fins de recherche et d’éducation.

Les tribunaux chargés de superviser la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens ont décidé que les enregistrements audio des audiences, les transcriptions des audiences, les décisions et les formulaires de demande au titre du PEI seraient conservés pendant une période d’attente de 15 ans. Pendant ce temps, les demandeurs seront informés des archives et de leur objectif, et ils pourront décider s’ils veulent que soient conservés au CNVR certains documents, dont la transcription de leur audience. Après 15 ans, tous les documents du PEI seront détruits, sauf ceux que les demandeurs auront choisi de conserver. La Cour supérieure de justice de l’Ontario a pris la décision suivante (décision de la Cour, disponible en anglais seulement) en août 2014 et elle a été confirmée (décision de la Cour, disponible en anglais seulement) par les juges majoritaires de la Cour d’appel de l’Ontario en avril 2016.

Le gouvernement du Canada en a appelé de cette décision à la Cour suprême du Canada. Le CNVR appuie l’appel du gouvernement. Toutes les autres parties de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens, ainsi que l’adjudicateur en chef, s’opposent à l’appel du gouvernement et demanderont à la Cour suprême du Canada de confirmer les décisions en vertu desquelles on accorde aux survivants le contrôle de leur témoignage relatif à leur expérience dans les pensionnats indiens.

La Cour suprême du Canada entendra les arguments à ce sujet le 25 mai 2017. Ils seront également diffusés sur le Web.

Les demandeurs peuvent être assurés que l’adjudicateur en chef continue de protéger la confidentialité des documents du PEI pendant que ces questions sont examinées par les tribunaux.

Vous trouverez dans les sections qui suivent des renseignements sur le PEI, le type de documents dont il est question et l’ordonnance du tribunal.

En 2007, les anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens ont conclu une convention de règlement historique avec le gouvernement du Canada et les églises qui dirigeaient les pensionnats. Cette convention devait régler les poursuites intentées par des milliers d’anciens élèves et offrir une réponse aux séquelles laissées par le régime des pensionnats indiens. Le Processus d’évaluation indépendant, ou le PEI, était prévu dans la convention.

Le PEI offre des indemnités aux anciens élèves qui peuvent prouver qu’ils ont été victimes d’abus dans un pensionnat.

Dans le formulaire de demande au titre du PEI, les demandeurs doivent fournir des renseignements personnels, de même que des détails sur l’abus qu’ils ont subis et sur les répercussions de ces gestes sur leur vie. On leur demande aussi d’identifier les auteurs présumés de ces gestes. Pour soutenir leur demande, on demande également aux demandeurs de fournir des documents sur leurs antécédents médicaux et correctionnels, leur éducation, leurs impôts et leurs emplois. Le Canada fournit les dossiers scolaires pour chaque demande.

La plupart des demandeurs donnent leur témoignage dans le cadre d’une audience privée devant un adjudicateur neutre. L’adjudicateur, le demandeur, l’avocat du demandeur (dans la plupart des cas) et un représentant du gouvernement du Canada sont présents à l’audience. Un représentant de l’Église peut également y assister, et le demandeur peut choisir d’être accompagné, notamment par un travailleur en santé communautaire, des membres de sa famille ou un aîné.

Toutes les personnes qui assistent à l’audience doivent signer une entente de confidentialité dans laquelle ils promettent de ne pas révéler les détails de la demande.

L’adjudicateur pose des questions au demandeur et dirige l’audience, après quoi il rédige une décision sur la question de savoir si une indemnité sera accordée au demandeur et quel en sera le montant.

Le PEI est administré par le Secrétariat d’adjudication des pensionnats indiens, sous la direction de l’adjudicateur en chef.

Près de 38 000 anciens élèves ont demandé une indemnité dans le cadre du PEI. D’autres ont présenté une demande dans le cadre du mode alternatif de règlement des conflits précédent, soit entre 2003 et 2007. La plupart des demandes ont été réglées, et les demandes restantes le seront bientôt. Maintenant que le PEI touche à sa fin, une question demeure sans réponse : que devrait-on faire des centaines de milliers de documents qui ont été utilisés dans le cadre du PEI?

L’adjudicateur en chef croit que la promesse de confidentialité faite avant chaque audience devrait être respectée, de même que le souhait de chaque demandeur concernant ses documents. L’adjudicateur en chef estime que tous les survivants devraient avoir le droit de contrôler leurs documents. Les demandeurs peuvent décider de conserver leurs propres documents ou de les communiquer, y compris de les verser dans des archives historiques. Même dans ces cas, les renseignements qui permettent d’identifier d’autres personnes devraient être retirés des documents de façon à respecter la vie privée de tous. Si un demandeur ne souhaite pas communiquer son expérience des pensionnats indiens, ses propos devraient être confidentiels, et les documents qui ne servent plus devraient être détruits.

Le gouvernement du Canada croit que les documents qui ont servi au PEI sont des documents du gouvernement et que, par conséquent, ils sont visés par les lois canadiennes sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée. Ces lois protègent la vie privée des personnes identifiées dans ces documents jusqu’à 20 ans après leur décès seulement. Si le gouvernement les contrôle, certains documents du PEI seraient probablement détruits, mais d’autres seraient conservés, et les renseignements sur toutes les personnes identifiées dans ces documents seraient accessibles au public 20 ans après leur décès. Les survivants n’auraient donc aucun contrôle sur les documents qui sont détruits et ceux qui sont conservés.

Le CNVR aimerait que les documents du PEI soient transférés dans ses archives à des fins de recherche et d’éducation, que le survivant y consente ou non.

Les documents qui font l’objet du différend sont les suivants :

  • Formulaires de demande, qui contiennent des dĂ©tails sur les allĂ©gations d’abus. Ceux-ci contiennent souvent les noms d’autres Ă©lèves ou des membres du personnel qui sont des agresseurs prĂ©sumĂ©s;
  • AntĂ©cĂ©dents mĂ©dicaux, psychologiques et correctionnels, Ă©ducation, services Ă  l’enfance et Ă  la famille, impĂ´ts et emplois, que les survivants ont dĂ» soumettre pour appuyer leur demande;
  • Enregistrements et transcriptions des tĂ©moignages du demandeur, des personnes accusĂ©es et des tĂ©moins;
  • Rapports mĂ©dicaux et psychologiques rĂ©digĂ©s par des spĂ©cialistes aux fins de la demande;
  • DĂ©cision de l’adjudicateur.

L’affaire en question ne touche pas tous les documents relatifs aux pensionnats indiens, notamment les suivants :

  • Documents historiques datant de la pĂ©riode oĂą les pensionnats indiens Ă©taient ouverts. Cela comprend les dossiers des Ă©lèves de ces pensionnats et du personnel qui y travaillait.
  • DĂ©clarations des survivants et d’autres personnes Ă  la Commission de vĂ©ritĂ© et de rĂ©conciliation.
  • Documents relatifs au paiement d’expĂ©rience commune et Ă  l’administration de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens.

Les documents du PEI contiennent des renseignements très personnels sur les demandeurs et sur bien d’autres personnes, p. ex. :

  • les adultes et les Ă©lèves accusĂ©s d’abus;
  • les tĂ©moins qui ont offert de tĂ©moigner;
  • d’autres Ă©lèves, des membres de la famille et de la communautĂ© dont les histoires et les relations personnelles peuvent ĂŞtre Ă©voquĂ©es pendant le tĂ©moignage.

De nombreux demandeurs n’auraient jamais présenté leur demande si on ne leur avait pas promis que leurs documents et les propos tenus lors de leur audience demeureraient confidentiels. Une promesse de confidentialité a aussi été faite aux personnes identifiées dans les demandes.

En 2013, la Commission de vérité et réconciliation et l’adjudicateur en chef ont demandé aux tribunaux chargés de la supervision des instructions sur ce qu’il conviendrait de faire des documents du PEI lorsque les demandes sont réglées.

En août 2014, après avoir entendu les observations des parties, la Cour supérieure de justice de l’Ontario a décidé que la promesse de confidentialité devait être respectée et a confirmé qu’il fallait respecter la vie privée des demandeurs et des autres personnes identifiées dans les documents du PEI.

Le tribunal a décidé que quatre catégories de documents — formulaires de demande, transcriptions des audiences, enregistrements audio des audiences et décisions — devraient être conservées pendant 15 ans pour laisser le temps aux demandeurs de décider si leurs documents devaient être archivés. La Cour a aussi reconnu qu’il fallait retirer des documents tout renseignement de nature privée concernant d’autres personnes avant de les archiver. D’autres documents, notamment les dossiers médicaux et les dossiers de l’impôt sur le revenu que les demandeurs doivent soumettre pour appuyer leur demande, seront détruits lorsqu’ils ne seront plus utiles pour le PEI; les formulaires de demande, les transcriptions, les enregistrements audio et les décisions seront également détruits si le demandeur décide de ne pas les archiver à la fin de la période d’attente de 15 ans.

La Cour a également ordonné que les demandeurs soient avisés qu’ils peuvent faire don de leur histoire grâce aux archives du Centre national de recherche pour la vérité et la réconciliation. Les demandeurs peuvent choisir de verser leur formulaire de demande, leur transcription d’audience, leur enregistrement d’audience et la décision de l’adjudicateur dans des archives historiques. Tout renseignement permettant d’identifier d’autres personnes sera retiré au préalable.

En avril 2016, la Cour d’appel de l’Ontario a confirmé cette décision et a décidé que les documents du processus de mode alternatif de règlement des conflits (le prédécesseur du PEI) seraient traités de la même façon.

Le gouvernement du Canada a obtenu l’autorisation de porter cette décision en appel devant la Cour suprême du Canada, qui entendra les plaidoiries le 25 mai 2017.

Le PEI a toujours été un processus privé et confidentiel. On continue de traiter avec soin et en toute sécurité les documents recueillis et préparés dans le cadre du PEI pendant que les tribunaux déterminent quoi faire des documents lorsque les demandes ont été réglées.

Les demandeurs ont toujours eu le droit de recevoir une transcription de leur témoignage après que les noms des autres personnes et les renseignements permettant de les identifier en ont été retirés pour respecter la vie privée de ces personnes. Jusqu’à maintenant, 5 p. 100 des demandeurs en ont fait la demande.

Les demandeurs peuvent faire ce qu’ils veulent de leur transcription. Ils peuvent la placer dans les archives créées à cette fin par le Centre national de recherche pour la vérité et la réconciliation, ou dans d’autres archives historiques.

Le Centre national de recherche pour la vérité et la réconciliation a été créé pour préserver à jamais la mémoire du régime canadien des pensionnats indiens. Les demandeurs qui souhaitent préserver pour les générations futures les détails de leur expérience devraient examiner la possibilité de donner une copie de leur transcription au Centre national.

Les demandeurs peuvent demander à leur avocat ou à leur agent de soutien d’obtenir la transcription de leur témoignage, ou ils peuvent communiquer avec le Secrétariat :

  • Courrier : SecrĂ©tariat d’adjudication des pensionnats indiens,
    2010, 12e avenue, 9e Ă©tage, Regina (Saskatchewan) S4P 0M3
  • TĂ©lĂ©copieur : 306 790-4635
  • Courriel : IAPS.Post.Hearingunit@irsad-sapi.gc.ca

Le temps d’attente pour obtenir une transcription est habituellement de deux à trois mois.

Apprenez-en davantage sur le Centre national pour la vérité et réconciliation ici.