About the Indian Residential Schools Adjudication Secretariat (IRSAS)

The Indian Residential Schools Adjudication Secretariat (IRSAS) is an independent, quasi-judicial tribunal that was established under the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement (IRSSA) in 2007. IRSAS manages the Independent Assessment Process (IAP).

The Indian Residential Schools Adjudication Secretariat (IRSAS)

The Indian Residential Schools Adjudication Secretariat (IRSAS) is an arms-length, independent organization that is responsible for supporting the Chief Adjudicator in the implementation and administration of the Independent Assessment Process (IAP).

The Executive Director of the Secretariat has a dual reporting relationship to both the Chief Adjudicator (on mandate matters) and to the Deputy Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (on financial and resource management). The Secretariat

Staff at the Secretariat:

  • receive IAP claims
  • assess claims to determine if they are eligible for the process
  • work with claimants and their lawyers to prepare claims for a hearing
  • provide support to claimants who choose to represent themselves instead of hiring a lawyer
  • schedule hearings for claimants
  • make travel and accommodations arrangements for claimants
  • manage Group IAP, a program that supports healing and reconciliation for claimants.

There are approximately 175 employees at the Secretariat, under the leadership of an Executive Director who reports to the Chief Adjudicator. The Indian Residential Schools Adjudication Secretariat has offices in Regina SK (head office), Gatineau QC, and Vancouver BC.

IRSAS is a sunset organization; it will wind down and cease to exist after the IAP is complete (projected for 2020).

The Chief Adjudicator

The Chief Adjudicator of the Independent Assessment Process (IAP) is an independent, court-appointed official who directs the work of the Indian Residential Schools Adjudication Secretariat (IRSAS), the administrative body that manages the IAP hearing process.

The Chief Adjudicator (CA) reports directly to the Courts that supervise the Settlement Agreement. The CA is retained on contract to ensure independence and an arms-length relationship exists between the CA and Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC).

Dan Shapiro was appointed as Chief Adjudicator in July 2013.

Message from the Chief Adjudicator

Independence of the Indian Residential Schools Adjudication Secretariat

Justice Perell of the Ontario Superior Court of Justice, in a decision on August 6, 2014 (section 44) reminded the parties to the Settlement Agreement that “The Secretariat is a branch of AANDC* which is a department of Canada. However, save for specific financial, funding, auditing and human resource matters, the Secretariat is under the direction of the Chief Adjudicator and independent from the AANDC. The Secretariat’s employees work in separate office space with separately keyed entrances. The Secretariat does utilize AANDC’s electronic records system, but it maintains separate paper files from AANDC.”

*Note: AANDC is now known as INAC, Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada.

The Independent Assessment Process

The Independent Assessment Process was established to resolve claims of emotional, physical or sexual abuse suffered by former students of Indian Residential Schools. It provides them with a way to settle their claim more quickly, out of court. It is an adjudication process.

The IAP is a claimant centred process that is fair, impartial and non-adversarial. Hearings are held in a private setting, not in a courtroom. Claimants can choose the location of their hearing and the gender of the adjudicator. Hearings are culturally appropriate and feature traditional and ceremonial elements such as smudges, songs and prayers, depending on the claimant’s preference. Claimants are supported at hearings by elders, family members, friends, resolution health support workers and interpreters.

The IAP is part of the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement (IRSSA) – the largest class action settlement in Canadian history. The agreement aims to bring a fair and lasting resolution to the harm caused by residential schools. It involved representatives of Indigenous groups, churches, the Government of Canada, and the legal profession. It was approved by the courts. The IAP replaced the Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) model.

For a full description of the Independent Assessment Process, click here.

The deadline to submit an application under the Independent Assessment Process was September 19, 2012.

À propos du Secrétariat d’adjudication des pensionnats indiens

Le Secrétariat d’adjudication des pensionnats indiens (SAPI) est un tribunal quasi judiciaire indépendant qui a été mis sur pied en vertu de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens (CRRPI) en 2007. Le SAPI gère le Processus d’évaluation indépendant (PEI).

Le Secrétariat d’adjudication des pensionnats indiens

Le SAPI est un organisme indépendant qui aide l’adjudicateur en chef à mettre en œuvre et à administrer le PEI. L’adjudicateur en chef relève des tribunaux.

Le directeur exécutif du Secrétariat relève simultanément de l’adjudicateur en chef (pour les questions liées au mandat) et du sous-ministre d’Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (pour les questions liées à la gestion des finances et des ressources). Le Secrétariat est chargé de soutenir l’adjudicateur en chef dans la mise en œuvre du PEI.

Le personnel du Secrétariat:

  • reçoit les demandes au titre du PEI;
  • Ă©value les demandes pour dĂ©terminer si elles sont admissibles au processus;
  • aide les demandeurs et leurs avocats Ă  prĂ©parer les demandes en vue de l’audience;
  • fournit du soutien aux demandeurs qui choisissent de se reprĂ©senter eux-mĂŞmes plutĂ´t que d’embaucher un avocat;
  • organise les audiences pour les demandeurs;
  • prend les dispositions nĂ©cessaires concernant les dĂ©placements et l’hĂ©bergement;
  • gère le PEI collectif, un programme qui favorise la guĂ©rison et la rĂ©conciliation des demandeurs.

Le Secrétariat compte environ 175 employés sous la direction d’un directeur exécutif, qui relève de l’adjudicateur en chef. Le SAPI a des bureaux à Regina (Saskatchewan) [administration centrale], à Gatineau (Québec) et à Vancouver (Colombie Britannique).

Le SAPI est une organisation mise sur pied de façon temporaire; elle mettra progressivement fin à ses activités et cessera d’exister une fois que le PEI sera terminé (vers 2020).

L’adjudicateur en chef

L’adjudicateur en chef du PEI est un fonctionnaire indépendant nommé par les tribunaux qui coordonne les travaux du SAPI, l’organe administratif qui gère le processus d’audience dans le cadre du PEI.

L’adjudicateur en chef relève directement des tribunaux qui supervisent la Convention de règlement. L’adjudicateur en chef est tenu par contrat de veiller à ce qu’une relation d’indépendance existe entre lui et Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC).

Dan Shapiro a été nommé adjudicateur en chef en juillet 2013..

Message de l’adjudicateur en chef

Indépendance du Secrétariat d’adjudication des pensionnats indiens

Le juge Perell de la Cour supérieure de justice de l’Ontario, dans une décision rendue le 6 août 2014 (section 44), a rappelé aux parties de la Convention de règlement que [traduction] « le Secrétariat est une direction d’AADNC*, lequel est un ministère du gouvernement du Canada. Toutefois, sauf en ce qui a trait à certaines questions relatives aux finances, au financement, à la vérification et aux ressources humaines, le Secrétariat est sous la direction de l’adjudicateur en chef et demeure indépendant d’AADNC. Les employés du Secrétariat travaillent dans des locaux séparés et chaque entrée se verrouille avec une serrure distincte. Le Secrétariat utilise le système de documents électroniques d’AADNC, mais il conserve ses dossiers papier séparément de ceux d’AADNC. »

*Remarque : AADNC est maintenant connu sous le nom d’Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC).

Le Processus d’évaluation indépendant

Le PEI a été mis sur pied pour régler les demandes liées aux abus émotionnels, physiques et sexuels subis par les anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens. Il leur permet d’obtenir plus rapidement un règlement extrajudiciaire de leur demande. Il s’agit d’un processus d’adjudication.

Le PEI est un processus axé sur les demandeurs qui est juste, impartial et non accusatoire. Les audiences sont tenues dans un cadre privé et non pas dans une salle d’audience. Les demandeurs peuvent choisir l’emplacement de leur audience et le sexe de l’adjudicateur. Les audiences sont adaptées à la culture et tiennent compte de certains éléments traditionnels et cérémoniels tels que la purification par la fumée, des chants et des prières, selon les préférences du demandeur. Pendant les audiences, des Aînés, des membres de la famille, des amis, des travailleurs en santé communautaire (résolution) et des interprètes offrent leur soutien aux demandeurs.

Le PEI s’inscrit dans la CRRPI, le plus important règlement de recours collectif de l’histoire du Canada. La Convention de règlement vise à réparer de manière juste et durable les préjudices subis dans les pensionnats indiens. Elle a été élaborée par des représentants des groupes autochtones, des Églises et du gouvernement du Canada et par des professionnels du droit. La Convention de règlement a été approuvée par les tribunaux. Le Processus d’évaluation indépendant remplace le Mode alternatif de règlement des conflits.

Pour obtenir une description du PEI, cliquez ici.

La date limite pour soumettre une demande au titre du PEI Ă©tait le 19 septembre 2012.