Information

This section contains a variety of information on the Independent Assessment Process (IAP) such as Public Notices and FAQs.

Please check back often as information is added to this section of the website on a regular basis.



Welcome to our new website!

June 5, 2017

The Indian Residential Schools Adjudication Secretariat’s (IRSAS) website has a new look. While the content is mostly the same, the revamped site features many updates....more

FAQs Administrative Splits

March 15, 2017

You may have heard people talking about an “Administrative Split” that has affected some claims in the Independent Assessment Process (IAP). "Administrative split" is a term used to describe situations where the classroom part of an Indian Residential School was removed from the direct control of those who managed the residence. This happened at a number of Indian Residential Schools beginning in the 1960’s....more

Claims on hold because of Administrative Splits to be released by March 6, 2017

February 3, 2017

A year ago, Dan Shapiro, the Chief Adjudicator of the Independent Assessment Process (IAP), placed a number of claims on hold after the Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs instructed her officials to conduct an urgent review of administrative splits....more

Supreme Court of British Columbia sets timelines for Court review of IAP decisions

December 8, 2016

In a decision released on November 29, 2016 and cited as Fontaine v. Canada (Attorney General), 2016 BCSC 2218, the Honourable Madam Justice B.J. Brown of the Supreme Court of British Columbia has established deadlines for claimants who wish to have a Court review a final (re-review) decision in the Independent Assessment Process (IAP)....more

Time running out to submit new information on IAP claims

May 20, 2016

If you filed a claim for abuse at an Indian Residential School, and have not heard about the eligibility of your claim, time is running out to have your claim admitted to the IAP....more

Blott and Honour Walk Clients - Notice to lost claimants

April 7, 2016

The vast majority of claimant first hearings in the Independent Assessment Process will be completed by the Spring of 2016. Over the last several years the Secretariat has engaged in a number of strategies to ensure that as many claims as possible were able to proceed to a hearing...more

IRSAS On Track to Complete Hearings

March 21, 2016

The vast majority of claimant first hearings in the Independent Assessment Process will be completed by the Spring of 2016. Over the last several years the Secretariat has engaged in a number of strategies to ensure that as many claims as possible were able to proceed to a hearing...more

Administrative Split

February 15, 2016

"Administrative split" is a term used to describe situations where the classroom part of an Indian Residential School was removed from the direct control of those who managed the residence....more

TRC Final Report Marks Turning Point in Relationships with Indigenous People

December 15, 2015

Congratulations to Justice Murray Sinclair and Commissioners Marie Wilson and Chief Wilton Littlechild on the completion of the six-year mandate of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, the sister tribunal to the Indian Residential Schools Secretariat...more

Accessing Public School Records in Canada

October 27, 2015

In IAP cases where a claimant’s attendance is not established in residential school records, it may be helpful to obtain records from provincial authorities that could establish the claimant’s presence or absence at other educational institutions...more

After your hearing

July 2, 2015

Sometimes a decision can be made at the end of the hearing. This can happen if all the necessary documents have been provided and there are no complications, and if you have a lawyer...more

Group IAP gives claimants a sense of family

June 10, 2015

Many former students who receive compensation for abuse at Indian Residential Schools feel the need for healing during the process and after their claims have been resolved....more

TRC provides path to reconciliation

June 3, 2015

Justice Murray Sinclair and the Truth and Reconciliation Commission have drafted a thorough account of Indian Residential Schools in the Commission’s final report...more

IRSAS at Final TRC event

May 27, 2015

Staff from IRSAS will be on hand in Ottawa when the TRC holds its final National Event, May 31 – June 3, 2015. Employees from the Client Services Unit work a booth where they can meet with claimants, provide updates on the status of claims and answer questions about the Independent Assessment Process...more

Improvements in Interpretation Services at IAP hearings

December 8, 2014

The Indian Residential Schools Adjudication Secretariat (IRSAS) has recently introduced changes to improve the quality of interpretation at Independent Assessment Process (IAP) hearings....more

IRSAS seeks Aboriginal organization to engage stakeholders

October 31, 2014

The Indian Residential Schools Adjudication Secretariat (IRSAS) is seeking one or more Aboriginal stakeholder organizations to deliver a National Stakeholder Engagement Strategy, which includes a number of activities that are based upon a traditional and holistic approach geared towards the healing and reconciliation needs of former students of Indian Residential Schools....more

Personal Credits deadline October 31 2014

August 22, 2014

Former students of Indian Residential Schools who qualified for a Common Experience Payment (CEP) have until October 31, 2014 to submit their completed Personal Credits Acknowledgement Form in order to remain eligible for the credit....more

Court approves key elements of Completion Strategy

August 21, 2014

The Ontario Superior Court of Justice has approved two key elements of the Independent Assessment Process Completion Strategy....more

Chief Adjudicator welcomes appointment of Independent Special Advisor

July 11, 2014

Dan Shapiro, Chief Adjudicator of the Independent Assessment Process (IAP), welcomes the appointment of an Independent Special Advisor to review complaints against lawyers and others who represent claimants in the IAP....more

Chief Adjudicator fights for claimant confidentiality

May 29, 2014

As you may have heard in recent news reports, the Ontario Superior Court of Justice will hold a hearing in July to decide what will happen to thousands of documents from Independent Assessment Process (IAP) hearings....more

IRSAS investigates possible security breach

April 7, 2014

Respecting the confidentiality of information in the Independent Assessment Process (IAP) is one of the most important aspects of our work at the Indian Residential Schools Adjudication Secretariat (IRSAS). We take this responsibility very seriously....more

Court decision on St. Anne’s Indian Residential School

January 27, 2014

The Ontario Superior Court of Justice ruled on January 14 that the Government of Canada must release documents related to abuse suffered by students at St. Anne’s IRS in Fort Albany Ontario...more

IRSAS booth at Truth and Reconciliation National Event in Vancouver, Sept 18-21

September 17, 2013

Staff from the Indian Residential Schools Adjudication Secretariat will attend the British Columbia National Event organized by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission in Vancouver September 18-21...more

Fact sheet on the Accelerated Hearing Process (AHP)

June 21, 2013

The Indian Residential Schools Adjudication Secretariat is introducing an Accelerated Hearing Process (AHP) to increase the number of hearings that can be held each week. Under the AHP, the Secretariat will...more

Important Notice for individuals who attended Mistassini Hostels

April 22, 2013

The deadline for individuals who attended the Mistassini Hostels in Northern Quebec to apply for compensation under the Independent Assessment Process has been extended to September 2, 2013...more

Notice to Indian Residential Schools Claimants about Ivon Johnny

February 11, 2013

The Supreme Court of British Columbia has ordered that Ivon Johnny cannot participate in the Independent Assessment Process in any way...more

Notice to Blott & Company Claimants on the process to find a new lawyer

July 10, 2012

Blott & Co. was the law firm that you selected to represent you in the IAP process. On June 5, 2012, the Court ruled that Mr. Blott of Blott & Co. could no longer represent anyone in the Residential School Class Action. Lawyers working with Blott & Co. were also affected by the ruling. That means that you will probably want to find a new lawyer to represent you rather than continue on by yourself because of the complexity of the IAP process...more

IRSAS Message to Blott IAP Clients

June 20, 2012

As you may know, on June 5th the British Columbia Supreme Court decided that Mr. David Blott and Blott & Company will no longer be involved with the Independent Assessment claim process (IAP) created by the Indian Residential School Settlement Agreement...more

Important message for all claimants represented by Blott and Company

June 6, 2012

The Court will order the removal of David Blott and Blott & Company from the IAP. Honour Walk Ltd., the Residential School Healing Society of Canada, and Hands Free Office Services will ...more

Note


Adobe Reader icon Many of our documents are in PDF format. To access them, you must have a PDF reader installed. You can get a PDF reader for free from:

Information

Cette section contient une variété de renseignements sur le Processus d’évaluation indépendant (PEI), y compris des avis au public et des foires aux questions.

Veuillez consulter cette page Web souvent puisque des renseignements y sont ajoutés périodiquement.



Report de la date limite pour demander le réexamen d’une demande rejetée au titre du PEI

13 juillet 2017

Le 1er juin 2018 est la date limite pour demander que votre demande soit réadmise au Processus d’évaluation indépendant (PEI) si elle a été rejetée au terme de la procédure de règlement des dossiers incomplets (RDI)....en savoir plus

Foire aux questions au sujet du partage administratif

15 mars 2017

Vous avez peut-être entendu parler du « partage administratif » qui touche certaines des demandes du Processus d’évaluation indépendant (PEI). Le terme « partage administratif » est utilisé pour décrire les cas où une salle de classe se trouvant dans un pensionnat indien n’était pas sous le contrôle direct des gestionnaires du pensionnat. Cette situation s’est produite dans un certain nombre de pensionnats indiens à compter des années 1960....en savoir plus

La mise en attente de réclamations en raison du partage administratif prendra fin le 6 mars 2017

3 fevrier 2017

Il y a un an, Dan Shapiro, adjudicateur en chef du Processus d’évaluation indépendant (PEI), a mis en attente un certain nombre de réclamations après que la ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord ait demandé à ses fonctionnaires d’effectuer un examen urgent des questions entourant le partage administratif....en savoir plus

La Cour suprême de la Colombie Britannique établit un échéancier pour la révision judiciaire des décisions rendues dans le Programme d’évaluation indépendant (PEI)

8 decembre 2016

Dans un arrêt publié le 29 novembre 2016 et dont la référence est : Fontaine v. Canada (Procureur général), 2016 BCSC 2218, la juge B.J. Brown de la Cour suprême de la Colombie Britannique a établi des dates d’échéance pour les demandeurs qui souhaitent qu’un tribunal révise une décision définitive (réexamen) rendue dans le Programme d’évaluation indépendant (PEI)....en savoir plus

Il reste peu de temps pour soumettre de nouveaux renseignements pour les demandes au titre du PEI

20 mai 2016

Si vous avez présenté une demande d'indemnisation pour des sévices subis dans un pensionnait indien et que vous n'avez pas eu de nouvelle concernant son admissibilité au titre du PEI, sachez qu'il reste peu de temps pour faire admettre votre demande....en savoir plus

Aux clients de Blott et de Honour Walk - Avis concernant les demandeurs dont on a perdu la trace

7 avril 2016

La grande majorité des premières audiences des demandeurs dans le cadre du Processus d’évaluation indépendant sera terminée d’ici le printemps 2016. Ces dernières années, le Secrétariat d’adjudication des pensionnats indiens (SAPI) a recouru à un certain nombre de stratégies pour veiller à ce que le plus grand nombre de demandes possible soient traitées en audience...en savoir plus

Le SAPI est en bonne voie de terminer les audiences

21 mars 2016

La grande majorité des premières audiences des demandeurs dans le cadre du Processus d’évaluation indépendant sera terminée d’ici le printemps 2016. Ces dernières années, le Secrétariat d’adjudication des pensionnats indiens (SAPI) a recouru à un certain nombre de stratégies pour veiller à ce que le plus grand nombre de demandes possible soient traitées en audience...en savoir plus

Partage Administratif

15 fevrier 2016

Le terme « partage administratif » est utilisé pour décrire des situations dans lesquelles la portion salle de classe d’un pensionnat indien a été soustraite du contrôle direct des personnes qui géraient la résidence....en savoir plus

Le rapport final de la CVR constitue un point tournant dans les relations avec les Autochtones

15 decembre 2015

Félicitations au juge Murray Sinclair ainsi qu’aux commissaires, Marie Wilson et le chef Wilton Littlechild, pour la réalisation du mandat de six ans de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation, le tribunal apparenté au Secrétariat d’adjudication des pensionnats indiens...en savoir plus

Accès aux dossiers des écoles publiques du Canada

27 October 2015

Pour les dossiers du PEI où la fréquentation du demandeur n’a pas été établie dans les registres des pensionnats, il peut être utile d’obtenir les dossiers des responsables provinciaux pour établir la présence ou l’absence du demandeur au sein des autres établissements scolaires...en savoir plus

Après votre audience

2 juillet 2015

Parfois, la décision peut être rendue à la fin de l’audience. C’est le cas si tous les documents nécessaires ont été fournis, s’il n’y a aucune complication et si vous êtes représenté par un avocat...en savoir plus

Le PEI collectif donne aux demandeurs un sentiment d’appartenance familiale

10 juin 2015

Bon nombre d’anciens élèves qui reçoivent une indemnité pour mauvais traitements dans un pensionnat indien ressentent un besoin de guérison durant le processus et après que leur demande a été réglée....en savoir plus

La CVR trace le chemin vers la réconciliation

3 juin 2015

Le juge Murray Sinclair et la Commission de Vérité et Réconciliation ont produit un compte-rendu détaillé et bien pensé des Pensionnats Indiens dans le rapport final de la Commission...en savoir plus

Participation du SAPI à l’évènement de clôture de la CVR

27 mai 2015

Des employés du SAPI seront à Ottawa pour l’évènement de clôture de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation, du 31 mai au 3 juin, 2015. Le personnel de la Direction des services à la clientèle sera sur place pour rencontrer les demandeurs, leur fournir de l'information à jour au sujet de l'état d'avancement de leurs demandes et répondre à leurs questions sur le Processus d'évaluation indépendant...en savoir plus

Amélioration des services d’interprétations aux audiences du PEI

8 decembre 2014

Le Secrétariat d'adjudication des pensionnats indiens (SAPI) a récemment effectué des changements en vue d’améliorer la qualité des services d’interprétation lors des audiences du Processus d'évaluation indépendant (PEI)....en savoir plus

Le SAPI recherche une organisation autochtone pour mobiliser les intervenants

31 October 2014

Le Secrétariat d’adjudication des pensionnats indiens (SAPI) est à la recherche de un ou plusieurs organisations autochtones qui seront chargées d’appliquer une stratégie nationale de mobilisation des intervenants....en savoir plus

Date limite pour les crédits personnels – le 31 octobre 2014

22 aout 2014

Les anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens qui remplissent les conditions requises pour bénéficier d’un paiement d’expérience commune (PEC) ont jusqu’au 31 octobre 2014 pour soumettre le formulaire d’attestation de crédits personnels rempli s’ils veulent demeurer admissibles au crédit. ...en savoir plus

Un tribunal approuve certains éléments essentiels de la stratégie d’achèvement du PEI

21 aout 2014

La Cour supérieure de justice de l’ Ontario a approuvé deux éléments fondamentaux de la stratégie d’achèvement du Processus d’évaluation indépendant. ...en savoir plus

Arbitre en chef salue la nomination du conseiller spécial indépendant

11 juillet 2014

Dan Shapiro, adjudicateur en chef du Processus d'évaluation indépendant (PEI), se réjouit de la nomination d'un conseiller spécial indépendant qui sera chargé de passer en revue les plaintes déposées contre les avocats et d'autres représentants des demandeurs du PEI....en savoir plus

L'adjudicateur en chef se bat pour la confidentialité des demandeurs

29 mai 2014

Vous avez peut-être entendu dans des reportages récents que la Cour supérieure de justice de l’Ontario tiendra une audience en juillet pour décider de ce que l’on fera des milliers de documents découlant des audiences du Processus d’évaluation indépendant (PEI)....en savoir plus

Le SAPI fait enquête sur une possible atteinte à la sécurité

7 avril 2014

Le respect de la confidentialité de l’information dans le cadre du Processus d’évaluation indépendant (PEI) est l’un des aspects les plus importants de notre travail au Secrétariat d’adjudication des pensionnats indiens (SAPI). Nous prenons cette responsabilité très au sérieux....en savoir plus

DĂ©cision de la cour sur le pensionnat indien de St. Anne

27 janvier 2014

La Cour supérieure de justice de l’Ontario a statué le 14 janvier que le gouvernement du Canada doit divulguer les documents concernant les abus subis par les élèves du pensionnat indien de St. Anne à Fort Albany, en Ontario...en savoir plus

Le SAPI tiendra un kiosque lors de l'événement national de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation qui aura lieu à Vancouver du 18 au 21 septembre

17 septembre 2013

Le personnel du Secrétariat d'adjudication des pensionnats indiens (SAPI) participera à l'événement national de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation organisé pour la Colombie-Britannique, qui aura lieu à Vancouver du 18 au 21 septembre...en savoir plus

Fiche d'information sur le processus d'audience accéléré (PAC)

21 juin 2013

Le Secrétariat d'adjudication des pensionnats indiens présente un nouveau processus d'audience accéléré (PAC) conçu pour augmenter le nombre d'audiences qu'il est possible de tenir chaque semaine. Il permet au Secrétariat de fixer...en savoir plus

Avis important pour les personnes qui ont assisté aux Foyers de Mistassini

22 avril 2013

Les personnes qui ont assisté aux Foyers de Mistassini, dans le Nord du Québec, ont maintenant jusqu’au 2 septembre 2013 pour présenter une demande d'indemnisation au titre du Processus d'évaluation indépendant...en savoir plus

Avis aux demandeurs au sujet de Ivon Johnny

11 fevrier 2013

La Cour suprême de la Colombie-Britannique a ordonné qu'Ivon Johnny ne participe d'aucune façon au Processus d'évaluation indépendant (PEI) ...en savoir plus

Note à l'intention des demandeurs représentés par le cabinet Blott et Compagnie concernant la recherche d'un nouvel avocat

10 juillet 2012

Blott & Co. est le cabinet que vous avez choisi pour vous représenter dans le cadre du PEI. Le 5 juin 2012, la Cour a statué que Me Blott ne représentera plus aucun des demandeurs dans les recours collectifs intentés en application de la Convention relative aux pensionnats indiens. Les avocats du cabinet Blott & Co. sont tous visés par cette décision. Cela signifie que vous aurez sans doute besoin de vous trouver un nouvel avocat plutôt que de continuer à agir seul, étant donné la complexité du processus...en savoir plus

Message du SAPI à l'intention de tous les clients représentés par le cabinet Blott & Company dans le cadre du PEI

20 juin 2012

Comme vous le savez probablement déjà, le 5 juin, la Cour suprême de la Colombie-Britannique a déterminé que M. David Blott et le cabinet Blott & Company ne participeront plus au PEI créé par la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens...en savoir plus

Important message pour tout demandeurs, clients de Blott et Compagnie

6 juin 2012

Le 5 juin 2012, la Cour suprême de la Colombie-Britannique a rendu une décision par suite d’une enquête sur les pratiques du cabinet d’avocats Blott & Company relativement au Processus d’évaluation indépendant (PEI)...en savoir plus

Note


Adobe Reader icon Many of our documents are in PDF format. To access them, you must have a PDF reader installed. You can get a PDF reader for free from: